Tags

The wonderful world of fishing is always more enjoyable when the angler has the proper equipment of baitcasting reels and terminal tackle to get the job done athooking and landing fish. Bottom fishing for assorted tasty, scrappy fighting fish are the summerpasttimes of many saltwater anglers. In the Northeast fluke, porgies, and sea bass are the main targets for many anglers who enthusiastically ply the inshore saltwater fishing grounds.

I prefer to use medium weight baitcasting composite rods made up of a combination of graphite and fiberglass. Recently, I teamed up a few Eposeidon baitcasting reels to my favorite fishing sticks on the fluke and porgy grounds off Montauk, NY. As a result, I quickly began to love the Kast King RXA 50 reel. I love the push button feature of this reel because to successfully bottom fish it is key to always feel for the bottom while drifting along as the bottom depth changes constantly. This means an astute angler is repeatedly reeling in or dropping the bait back, to keep it on the bottom. The push button free spool is great for such scenarios. I chose to spool the reel up with Kast King multi-colored braided linein 30-pound test. I feel this size of line offers a very thin diameter line that is also very strong.

I love to jig bucktails for fluke, and porgies. I make my rigs by starting with a medium sized barrel swivel attached to the terminal end of my main braided line. To the other end of this swivel I attach a 40-pound fluorocarbon leader of about 36-inches long. On the end of this leader I tie on a medium sized snap swivel that makes changing bucktail sizes or colors a quick option. My favorite knots for these connections are the Palomar or Improved clinch knots. To complete the rig I bend the leader in half and form a large dropper loop. To this loop I attach a teaser and hook. I prefer bucktail riveted teasers, but rubber squids or “fly” type teasers will also perform fine. I bait both the bucktail with any of the following: whole spearing, or squid and clam strips.

On this particular day, porgies to 3-pounds were so thick it was almost impossible to get a bucktail rig past them to any fluke. However, I had a ball bucktail jigging and whacking porgy after porgy as both the Kast King line and baitcasting reel performed flawlessly. As I made drift after drift the porgy count quickly mounted as many of the larger specimens took dives to the bottom after being hooked, and the Kast King RXA 50 baitcasting reel drag performed flawlessly as the bushel basket I kept on ice in my large fish box quickly began to fill with tasty scup that were destined for the barbeque grill.

By Capt. Tom Mikoleski

Captain Tom Mikoleski is the successful fishing charter captain of the Grand Slam who sails out of Montauk, NY for trophy striped bass, doormat fluke, jumbo porgies, humpback sea bass, and monster sharks. Captain Tom is the author of Bass Buff — A Striper Fishing Obsession Guide

